Red Velvet Indulgence Cupcakes

It’s been over a week since I’ve written and published a blog entry. What have I been doing in this time exactly? Working, running, hanging out with friends… the usual twenty-something city girl activities. I am very excited that my rib injury is healing and that I am able to run once again, but I know that in order to balance all of this running (I ran approximately 30 miles this past week, which is a lot for me right now), I know I must allow myself to indulge in everything. I have been encouraging myself to eat and drink whatever I want, which is a very bold step for a health and fitness-focused crunchy girl like myself. Last week I baked and ate a batch of sugar cookies, drank a few mixed drinks (margaritas, rum and coke, sangria), and ate out more than I ate at home. And though today is Yom Kippur, I decided it was the perfect day for a Jewish girl to skip out on work, go to synagogue, and bake cupcakes.

I used Martha’s recipe for red velvet cupcakes, and I’d say it was a success. The only alteration I made was that I used a 50:50 ratio of whole wheat:white flour to add a bit of a nutritional punch, but I think this substitution went unnoticed taste-wise and nutritionally. I also may or may not have used store-bought icing — that Pillsbury dough boy saved me plenty of time.

Check out the process:

P1030914

P1030921
P1030931

P1030937

I’m bringing a dozen of these cupcakes to a Break-Fast Yom Kippur party this evening, and though they aren’t at all traditional Jewish dessert food, I think they’ll be a hit!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Red Velvet Indulgence Cupcakes

  1. the color of those cupcakes is AMAZING! i love red velvet…i am sure everyone thoroughly enjoyed!

    good luck with the injury – 30 miles is a lot, so the indulgences are definitely well-earned :)

  2. Pingback: Elizabeth « Crunchy Granola Gal

Leave a Reply

